Site Roles
Veeva provides some standard roles that are available by default for site users. You can assign these standard roles, or you can create and assign user-defined roles.
Standard Roles
The following site roles have a default set of permissions, and you cannot edit them.
- Site Viewer
- Coordinator
- Investigator
User-Defined Site Roles
If your organization requires different or more granular sets of permissions for site staff, you can configure user-defined site roles and select the appropriate permissions. After the user-defined site role is created, the role can be assigned to site staff. You can configure more than one user-defined site role.
Note: User-defined site roles are available across all studies and sites.
Available Permissions
| Permission | Available for User-Defined Roles | Site Viewer | Coordinator | Investigator |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| View Access | Yes (Default) | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Generate Reports | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Manage Participants and Groups | Yes | No | Yes | Yes |
| Manage Studies | Yes | No | Yes | Yes |
| Manage Events | Yes | No | Yes | Yes |
| Manage Surveys | Yes | No | Yes | Yes |
| Manage Check Events | Yes | No | Yes | Yes |
| Accept End-of-Study Media | Yes | No | Yes | Yes |
| Receive Notifications | Yes | No | Yes | Yes |
| Provide Signatures | Yes | No | No | Yes |
Creating a User-Defined Site Role
Vault Owners and System Administrators can create user-defined site roles directly or by copying an existing role.
- Access Business Admin > Objects > Study Team Roles.
- If basing the new user-defined site role on an existing one, select the existing role’s actions menu () and select Copy Record. Go to Step 4.
- If creating a new role, select +Create.
- Populate the fields on the new Study Team Role record, considering the following field information:
- Study Team Role: This field is the label for the role. This label is displayed when creating site users and in reports.
- Application Role: You must keep the default value, Custom Site Role.
- Site Permissions: Select the permissions that this role should have.
- Select Save.